The last day in Madrid

We couldn’t believe that we were already on our last day of our first city. We woke up on Spain time (late) and decided we were going to have a lazy picnic day in Retiro Park. We grabbed some food, I used my first full Spanish sentence to find us some very important ham, and found a beautiful spot in this massive park to lounge and eat. Two things we were, at this point, experts at. We took our time in the sun, not doing much of anything but enjoy the company. Retiro Park is absolutely humungous, and the more we walked through it the more we were blown away by what was in it. We went past a mini river where you could rent boats and beautiful statues and finally we made it to the famous Crystal Palace. Which, on pinterest, was this beautiful abandoned castle filled with a rainbow of colours. In reality, spoiler alert, it was just a greenhouse. Poor Sabine was so very disappointed. I tried my best to position myself in a way that the sun hits the glass to create the illusions that we saw online but it was almost impossible. I’m not telling you not to go see it, I’m just telling you to be quite weary of what you read on the internet (duh – I guess). We continued to walk through the park and got to a beautiful garden with peacocks just hanging out. Seriously, peacocks, everywhere, just doing their thing, being peacocks. In this public park, with no one bothering them. No one seems to think this is as cool as I do. I would love to trade every god damn squirrel we have in Ottawa for a peacock. And no there would be no repercussions.

After our lovely day in the park we went to the famous chocolateria (official term probably) for churros. This is the one that all the celebrities visit and stuff so it was a must. And the chocolate dip was so delicious I wanted to drink it. Maybe I did, maybe I didn’t – it’s not relevant to the story.

After siesta, we went to Reina Sofia, the modern art museum where we got to see La Guernica, the daunting but wildly impressive painting by Picasso depicting the bombings in Spain. After that, we grabbed quick dinner and went to play Cards Against Humanities in the common room of the hostel. It was getting late and we once again, wanted churros. I once again, wanted to drink the entire batch of chocolate. We ended our final night in Madrid in a sugar high, both happy to be moving on to the next city and sad to be leaving. We were also sad to be ending our very scientific Prostitute observation. Our train in the morning was very early.

Prostitute Count:
Early during the day : 7
Mid Afternoon : 24
Late Evening: 33
End of Night: 31

Cheers!

2 Responses

  1. sounds like a perfect day! Good luck in your travels!

    • Thanks so much!

Leave a comment